We meet again, dear blog.

This post is part of the Zero to Hero event at WordPress! If you’re anything like me (and your year-old blog does nothing but collect dust and the occasional spam comment), I invite you to join me! Let’s become heroes together!

You can usually tell when I’m going to create a blog when an existential crisis begins to occur . This has happened, periodically, for the past three years, and it’s more of a safety-blanket than a commitment, more of an identity exploration – or creation –  than any project or hobby.

I think the reason I create blogs is I like the idea of being someone. That is, I like the idea of being someone more than I like the actual being part. When you create a blog, you create yourself. I can, quite literally, be anyone. I can be a food blogger or a runner.  An upbeat teen girl who posts pictures of Starbucks cappuccinos while wearing yoga pants or a snarky nerd documenting ventures in HTML. I’ve struggled with my identity for years, and I tend to express this through social media through a variety of personas, usernames, and – of course – blogs.

This blog, Mind Over Mile, is my newest creation. But, instead of abandoning it, leaving it to wither away along with a persona I tried on and tossed aside, I want this to be different – I want this blog to express me, the real me, whomever that may be.

And who am I?

I think I’m a runner.

I mean, I’m not a very good one. But I still count as one, right?

This blog will, hopefully, document the progression from an amateur runner in love with peanut butter to an enthusiastic marathoner who downs a jar of peanut butter without a flicker of guilt.

I’ll post pictures, updates, reflections, worries,  races, etc, etc. It will also document my life outside of running – such as school, daily reads, or the rare occasions in which I stare at nature instead of my computer monitor.

Also, I’m going on a run right now. I’m staying in Las Vegas, and they have treadmills at the hotel I’m staying it. It’s not as good as running in nature – but it will have to do!

Yrs,

Tianna

4 thoughts on “We meet again, dear blog.

  1. Feels like I found a kindred spirit! NOT with regards to the running, but the blog creating, the personas … you expressed it so well! I’m hoping that my current one will survive too. Found your post via the forum for this Zero to Hero thing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Riding the mind behind strange eyes…Zero to hero Day 16 | alienorajt

Leave a comment